top of page


The limits of the geopark have been established according to the territory that has already collaborated in geotourism for several decades and that is administratively assigned to the Quiroga region and made up of three municipalities: Folgoso do Courel, Quiroga and Ribas de Sil.

The resident population is scarce and dispersed (5,406 inhabitants; INE 2016) for a territory of 577.85 square km of surface.



Folgoso do Courel

Located in the northern part of the geopark and with 193 square km, we can find in its territory 40% of the higher plant species of Galicia. 

The city council is divided into nine parishes:

  • Vilamor 

  • leafy

  • Seceda 

  • Seoane

  • Esperante 

  • Horreos 

  • Visuña 

  • Look at us

  • night

  • Outeiro

  • Pacios da Seara

  • stopdry

  • Qunta de Lor

  • Quiroga

  • Seara, A.

  • Sequeiros

  • Vilanide

  • Vilar de Lor

  • Vilarmel

  • Vilaster

  • Augas Mestas

  • blessed

  • bendollo

  • Bustel of Fisteus

  • Cereixido

  • Enciñeira, A.

  • Ermida, A.

  • fisteus

  • Hospital, OR

  • Montefurado

  • nocedo


It occupies the central part of the geopark with its 317.46 square km. It contains the Campodola-Leixazós geological fold, one of the few that can be seen with the naked eye and declared a Natural Monument in 2012. 

The town hall is divided into 22 parishes :​

Ribas de Sil

It represents the southern limit of the geopark. The A Cubela meander and its surroundings or the impressive Montefurado tunnel tell us about geology, Roman occupation and the presence of gold.

Its 67.78 square km group seven parishes:

  • Nogueira​

  • Peites​

  • Piñeira​

  • Rairos​

  • Ribas de Sil 

  • Soutordei​

  • torbeo

Where we are?


The Montañas do Courel UNESCO Global Geopark is located in the province of Lugo (Galicia), between the geographical coordinates 42.715º N, 42.32º N and 7.023º W, 7.42º W.


Your trip

There are two main entry routes into Galicia. From the north we will arrive from Pedrafita do Cebreiro, crossing the municipality of Folgoso do Courel, and from the south, heading to Quiroga or Ribas de Sil, from where we can easily go to the other two municipalities._cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b -136bad5cf58d_

  • Santiago de Compostela: we take the AP-53 passing through Lalín and Monforte de Lemos.

  • Ourense: we follow the N-120 that leads to Ponferrada passing through Monforte de Lemos.

  • Vigo: we will go along the A-55 to Porriño, where we connect with the A-52 that takes us to Ourense.

  • Pontevedra: we go through the AP-9 to Vigo and from there we follow the steps indicated for this city.

  • Lugo: we access the N-VI and follow it to Nadela. There we join the CG-2.2 towards Bóveda where we take the exit that takes us to the LU-652 and which, shortly after the detour to Poba do Brollón, links with the N-120 that we will not leave until we reach our destination.

  • A Coruña: from the A-6 we reach Nadela, where we follow the indications given for Lugo.

  • Verín: we leave by the N-525 until A Rúa where we turn to the N-120 towards Quiroga.

If you come from outside Galicia, the benchmarks are Lugo, Pedrafita do Cebreiro and Ponferrada.

bottom of page